Candlelit room, a rose placed in the middle of the table, a serene atmosphere... and a menu of chocolate-filled items. What could be more romantic? What could be more suitable for a date night?

Baileys' Chocolate Bar is must-go-to place if you're in St.Louis. Don't believe me? Just keep on reading...

Complimentary Warm Chocolate Chip Cookies

Those bread you get at restaurants? Psh. Baileys' serves you cookies.





Cheese Plate- $6.50 - $18.00 depending on the type and variety of cheese you get


I LOVE cheese. But not the cheap Deli kind. Oddly enough, one of the first things I crave from Baileys' is their cheese selection. I love their crispy-on-the-outside, fluffy-on-the-inside toast that comes on the plate. And their spiced nuts with dried apricots... yum yum yum. They sure know how to serve cheese. They have 19 different cheese to choose from. I recommend this to the cheese lovers out there!





Stout Beer Shake: Cinnamon Ice Cream & Chocolate Stout– $7.50

I'm not a beer person. But man, is this good. I ALWAYS get this shake when I go here. If you're like me and you have super low tolerance with alcohol, you can ask the waiter to half the beer and add more ice cream. Delicious.




S'mores Martini- $7.50 (special)

Baileys' is known for their martinis. Definitely get one!
The S'mores was pretty yummy. It was liquid S'mores. I don't know how else to explain it.





(picture with flash)
(picture without flash)
Left: Stout Beer Shake Right: Chai Ice Cream Martini (special)- $7.50



As usual, I got the Stout Beer Shake (mmmmm). And I was adventurous enough to try their special- Chai Martini. No regrets. It was simply wonderful. It tasted like Stout Beer Shake's Indian sister with bit more alcohol.
Again: TRY THEIR MARTINIS!!!



Lasalle Pizzetta: Roasted Apple, Caramelized Onion, Bacon, Fresh Thyme and Goat Cheese – $10.00

This was our waiter's recommendation. Apparently, it's his favorite. The ingredients sound awesome but... I wasn't super happy with it. Maybe it's because I'm not too crazy about bacon. I just think they could have made this better but something was missing... Was it good? I suppose so. Will I order again? No. Once was enough.




Missouri Pizzetta: Local Mushrooms, Roasted Garlic, Mahon, Asiago and Gruyere – $9.00

Simple is best. This is probably my favorite pizzetta from Baileys'. But then again, I love mushroom pizza. Too simple for you? That's ok. There's plenty of others on the list.





Albion Place: Chicken, Pesto, Mozzarella and Chilled Tomato – $10.00

Another simple choice. But still yummy.





Chocolate Inebriation: Layers of Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Stout, Bittersweet Chocolate Ganache & Cinnamon Ice Cream – $9.00

Oh yes. Inebriation indeed. It was a chocolatey goodness. Many people love it and I can see why.





Mint Chocolate Cheesecake- $9.00 (special)

My boyfriend, being a cheesecake-addict, had to have this for dessert. I must say, the cooling mint cleansed the palate after a delicious and alcoholic meal.





They also have a cozy patio area where it's heated during the cold days. These were taken in May 2012.


Conclusion:
Not being a huge drinker, I tend to opt out on the alcoholic menu. This place is different. If there was one place that could make me into an alcoholic, this would be it. I visit this place maybe once every 2 months. The highlights are definitely the drinks and the desserts (and the cheese for me).  It can be for a romantic outing or for a quick dessert with friends. The waiters are all very knowledgeable and friendly. Give this place a try. You will find something to make you smile.

In case you didn't get the message: I RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!!!





February 14, 2013

For this year's Valentine's, instead of trying a new fancy place, we decided to go to a trusted place: Baileys'!

Stout Beer Shake: Cinnamon Ice Cream & Chocolate Stout– $7.50


As usual, we had to get this :)
Lindeman's Framboise Belgian Lambic brewed with real raspberries. (8 oz) – $5.00

First time we tried this. It was DELICIOUS! It's pretty much ale. Non-carbonated and great for people who aren't into strong drinks!



Cheese Plate- $6.50 - $18.00 depending on the type and variety of cheese you get


The cheese we got (St. Andre, Old Amsterdam, Antique Gruyere) This was the BEST cheese plate I've gotten! The selection was dead on :)




Flourless molten Cake served with Coffee ice Cream – $7.00


I'm not a huge fan of flourless cake but boyfriend really loved this one out of any of the ones we've tried. Although I couldn't tell the difference between this one and any other flourless cake, if you're a fan, try this. 




Pear and walnut Bread Pudding served with Chai ice Cream, Poached Pear topped with a Pear reduction– $8.00


If you're a bread pudding person, DO NOT get this. This is not your typical bread pudding.  As I have been craving bread pudding this past month, this was such a disappointment. It was really dry and was not edible without the poached pear. I think a good bread pudding can stand on its own with a drizzle of hot caramel sauce. 




Conclusion: 
Baileys is definitely a good place to go to. Although the bread pudding was a disappointment, the place serves consistently delicious food. Word of caution: They do not take reservations so go early for days like Valentine's Day! 



Leave a Reply.